Journal Publishing Options: Home

• Elsevier Journal Finder

  Find Elsevier journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. The Journal Finder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your article to Elsevier journals.

• EndNote Match: Find the Best Fit Journals for Your Manuscript
  EndNote Match can help you find the right journal for your manuscript.
   
• Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)

  Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!

• Publish or Flourish Open Access

  FlourishOA is a resource for identifying high-quality, high-value open access journals.

• Springer Journal Suggester

  Find Springer and BioMed Central journals for your manuscript.

• Think. Check. Submit

  Think. Check. Submit. is a campaign to help researchers identify trusted
  journals for their research. It is a simple checklist researchers can use to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher.

• Web of Science Master List

  Web of Science Master list has approximately 24,000 journals indexed by the Web of Science platform. A manuscript matcher tool is also available.

Predatory publishers are exploitative publishers charging excess publication fees to authors without offering the usual editorial and publishing support associated with legitimate journals.  There isn't a single definitive list of predatory publishers available.

• Check to see if the journal is included in the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals). Journals included in the DOAJ must exercise quality control on submitted papers and meet additional standards of quality.
   
• Check to see if the publisher is a member of OASPA (Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association). Members of OASPA are expected to adhere to the OASPA Professional Code of Conduct.
   
• Check to see if the journal's publisher is a member of COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics).
   
• Check Ulrichsweb or publisher websites to find out if the journal is peer-reviewed and what databases it is indexed in.
   
• Check SJR (SCImago Journal Rank). An open access metric that ranks journals contained in the Scopus database from 1996 to the present.

Review red flags for recognizing predatory publishers:

• You don't recognize or cannot find out about authors or members of the editorial board.
• The journal is not affiliated with a university or a scholarly organization you are familiar with.
• You cannot easily identify author processing fees and/or how much they cost.
• The journal doesn't look professional - look for an ISSN and DOIs for individual articles.
• You cannot easily find contact information.

Read More: Predatory Journals: What Can We Do to Protect Their Prey?

Manuscript Definitions

• AAMC Annotated Bibliography of Journals for Educational Scholarship 2022

  The AAMC Annotated Bibliography provides scholars and researchers with detailed information about the topics, types of manuscripts, and audiences for more than 60 journals that publish health professions education manuscripts.

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

  DOAJ contains more than 10,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. DOAJ is co-author to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing (Principles), a list of criteria used for listing of journals and DOAJ members are expected to follow these principles as a condition of membership.

• Embase Journal List

  Embase provides 32 million+ records from almost 8,300 currently published journals and includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE.

• Journals that Follow the ICMJE Recommendations

  Consult this list for journals whose editors or publishers have contacted the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) to request listing as a journal that follows the ICMJE's Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals.

• NLM Catalog: Journals Currently Indexed by MEDLINE/PubMed

  This resource is a list of journals currently indexed in MEDLINE.

• Scopus Journal List

  Check the Scopus list of indexed journals including those no longer indexed due to publication concerns.